Merry Christmas … and I mean Merry Christmas

I guess I’m not the most Politically correct person on the planet, but it really irks me that all the Holidays got lumped all together sometime over the past decade. What happened to make each holiday indistinct??? Why did we all of a sudden decide that it was “wrong” to say Merry Christmas or Happy Hanukkah?

It seems to me that we are showing a great amount of disrespect to our friends by issuing a blanket Holiday greeting. What? We’re too lazy to express each Holiday separately? I’m seeing a great disservice to those of us who are Christians, Jews, or whatever by neglecting to express our joy in our personal Holiday. I personally celebrate Christmas. Period. But I care enough about my friends who are Jews or Muslims to acknowledge their Holidays, too.

Because I work at a University (where everybody has been informed about political correctness), I’m expected to greet my customers with “Happy Holidays.” Nonsense.

I celebrate Christmas. I’m gonna express Christmas. My friends in Chicago and Arizona are Jewish and they celebrate Hanukkah. I send them a note expressing my joy at their Holiday. I don’t disrespect them by lumping them in with all the people who celebrate other Holidays this time of year.

I’m sure someone will have something to say about my point of view. But I really don’t care. Christmas is MY Holiday and I’m gonna celebrate it the best way I know how … and that’s by sharing my joy.

Merry Christmas!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by ascofuatwork on December 22, 2011 at 9:01 pm

    I am glad someone shares my sentiments. Merry Christmas to you and your family.

    Reply

  2. […] Merry Christmas … and I mean Merry Christmas (lomaintchk.wordpress.com) […]

    Reply

  3. […] Merry Christmas … and I mean Merry Christmas (lomaintchk.wordpress.com) GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_bg", "ffffff"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_border", "cccccc"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_text", "000000"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_link", "515151"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_url", "f78b0c"); GA_googleAddAttr("LangId", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "religion"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "news"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "philosophy-and-beliefs"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "christmas"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "happy-holiday"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "holiday-greetings"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "jews"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "kwanzaa"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "merry-christmas"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "muslim"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "thomas-jefferson"); GA_googleFillSlot("wpcom_sharethrough"); Click to share:EmailPrintFacebookTwitterRedditDiggStumbleUponLinkedInLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

    Reply

  4. […] Merry Christmas … and I mean Merry Christmas (lomaintchk.wordpress.com) […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

